THE SCOOP BOOK REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY!

by: Fern Michaels             

Publisher: Zebra (Kensington)  

Published: March 12, 2012        

Format: Paperback (320 pages)      

ISBN: 9781420124644            

Series: The Godmothers

Origin: Publisher

***Though the publisher provides the free book, I offer the opinion.***

My Look:

As soon as widow Teresa “Toots” Amelia Loudenberry throws off her mourning clothes, she is ready for the rest of her life.  

Toots wants to start out by getting together with her best friends.  Her daughter’s godmothers.  They all have their own life issues but Toots is ready for a change and she knows most of them need a change too.  Ida needs to find who she used to be by kicking her germaphobic habits while Sophie is waiting for her rotten husband to die.  Toots watched her friend, Sophie, suffer through her marriage with a man who cannot die soon enough.  Sophie deserves to live a much-delayed life and find herself some good loving.  Mavis needs to add some living to her life of widowhood and lose some weight.   Toots needs to be needed and she wants to enjoy an unmarried life, something long overdue with her eight marriages and oodles of money.  The plan only got that far because she was taking it slow.  

She issued her friends invitations for an all expense paid trip to visit with her in South Carolina, and they all accepted.  Filled with glee she hadn’t expected bad news.  

Her daughter lives in California, and she can’t afford to be out of a job.  

Abby’s not your average journalist, in a true sense of the word, not that her daughter hasn’t had the offers and opportunities to be just that.  She hated those opportunities but discovered her true love.  Now that love was going to end in the most final of ways, and Abby’s going to need the unemployment checks, if her newspaper closes.  Toots knows Abby would be a great addition to any tabloid in Hollywood, but they have established staffs, even if they’d probably hire freelancers, at times.   Freelancing?  No, it was not going to pay Abby’s mortgage. 

The Informer had been a start-up venture, and it seemed to be catching on.  However, the owner is a major gambler—on the losing side of the dice—and that’s why her daughter and many others will be out of work.  Although, Toots offers again to pay her obligation, Abby refuses.  She always refuses.  Toots extended the other offer, knowing Abby would reject it. She told Abby her old room would be ready, if she changed her mind.  

Her mind conjured up the idea in a flash.  This could really work!  Her stepson would help. However how would her friends feel about a not-so-quick trip to California?  

Later, Toots would wonder who stole her millions.

My Take:

Fern Michaels introduces the Godmothers series and the entire cast in THE SCOOP!  

These four seniors take Hollywood by storm, bringing with them a sitcom to match every one of them.  You will enjoy Ida’s latex glove transformation, Sophie’s not-so-sad demeanor for a husband she’d only return to bury, and Mavis’ new diet mindedness; but most of all, you’ll enjoy Toots who is not afraid of living without a man.  Toots is the glue that holds these girls together and provides the means for their opportunities.   These women will drink, eat, smoke, and fuss their way into any reader’s heart.

Along the way, Fern Michaels throws in a little mystery too.   

Although this title stands alone, you will want to catch some of the other Godmother books including, EXCLUSIVE (Kensington -reprint- 2010), LATE EDITION (Kensington 2011), and DEADLINE  (Zebra – reprint – 2012) until BREAKING NEWS releases in May 2012  (Kensington).

NOW, HERE’S THE GIVEAWAY NEWS!

For readers of this blog, throughout the United States and Canada, you can enter a random drawing for a free physical book of THE SCOOP just by leaving a comment!  

The comment form will require an email address.  However, your email address will not be published.

I will announce the winner on a future blog post.

So, you stay tuned and check back often!  I just may have more giveaways coming to you in the future.

57 responses to “THE SCOOP BOOK REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY!

  1. I love Fern Michaels – this would be a great book! (mill1(at)sympatico(dot)ca)

  2. I love reading about women and their friendships. This sounds like a really fun book to read. Thanks for the giveaway and introducing a new author to follow!
    laurathomas61@att.net

  3. I love Fern Michaels books! This one sounds as good as her others. I’d love to win a copy. Please enter me in your contest, and thank you for offering it!
    Nancee
    quiltcat26@sbcglobal.net

  4. I love seniors who behave badly…especially the women. Good for
    Fern.

  5. Cool giveaway. Book reminds me of ghe Golden Girls. Love it.

  6. I’m trying to figure out how it is that I’ve never read Fern Michaels. I’ll have to remedy that situation.

  7. I love Fern Michael’s great giveaway lomazowr@gmail.com

  8. This one sounds good!
    alibraryofourown at gmail dot com
    Thanks!

  9. Fern Michaels has always been a favorite author of mine. Can’t wait to read this one!

  10. Aiyana Friedlander

    I really love Fern Michaels books…

    Aiyana…

  11. I have not read a Fern Michaels book yet so I would love to win. Thanks! I’m a new follower.

    Margaret
    singitm(at)hotmail(dot)com

  12. I love all of Micahels novels. I am looking forward to this one too!

  13. conniefischer

    Fern Michaels is an icon. I’m really looking forward to reading her next novel. Thanks for offering this fabulous giveaway!

  14. sandy haber

    Haven’t read any Fern Michaels in a while, this would be a great way to get back to doing so!

  15. Iphy precious

    fern micheals is jst d best,i luv her stories but d problem dere is dat it’s hard for we Nigerians to get d complete series of her stories

  16. Everybody needs to get rid of their geromophobic habits!! Not just Ida!!!

  17. Cheryl Baranski

    Oh, I love books by Fern Michael’s!!

  18. Carrie Willoughby

    I SO want to start my summer reading with this book! Then I’ll pass it on to someone else!

  19. sandra drennan

    Now this seems like a great read !

  20. Pat Spaulding

    Love these books. I read all year rund and this is one of my top authors!

  21. Betty Herring

    Been a fan of her books for years.

  22. Fern Michaels is a great author and I always love reading her latest book ! Ruth

  23. mary branham

    Love your books. Can’t wait to read this one. Sure would love to win it.
    Love the cover, It looks so inviting.
    Reminds of times past as I was growing up.

  24. I’ve enjoyed so many of your books. This sounds like a wonderful series which I’m sure is going to be great too!

    catslady5@aol.com

  25. I would love to read this series of Fern Michaels books!

  26. stephanie bondlow

    This book is at the top of my wish list now.

  27. Laura Newkirk

    I have read 31 books by Fern Michaels and would like to read my own copy of this one also…

  28. This contest may be over. If not I would love to enter. I know Fern Michaels is a good writer. Maxie ( mac262@me.com )