GRACE: BLOG POST BY T. GREENWOOD & MULTI-BOOK GIVEAWAY!

Publisher: Kensington

Published: March 27, 2012

Format: Paperback (352 pages)

ISBN: 9780758250926

Origin: Publisher

A special guest post by author, T. Greenwood . . .

Grace Blog

Late in 2009, I heard a story on the news about a man in suburban Detroit who, after making his teenage son strip naked, forced him out into a dirt lot near their home where he shot him execution style. It was the type of story that both horrified and fascinated me. As a parent, it seemed inconceivable. As a mother, it seemed unforgivable. And for the next several months, I couldn’t let go of this image, a modern day Abraham and Isaac story played out in a vacant lot.

Every novel I write begins with a question. Grace began with this one: What would bring a father to this? What would drive a man to the state of madness necessary to kill his own son? I wrote the opening scene first, conjuring Kurt Kennedy and his son, Trevor, in a similar situation (though not in Michigan but rural Vermont). I imagined what might be going through Kurt’s mind as he marched his son into a snowy field, a rifle aimed at the back of his head. Who are these people, and how did they get here? I asked myself. And then I spent the next year and a half (and nearly 400 pages) figuring out the answer to this question.

Initially I knew little about Kurt and Trevor. I only knew that Kurt had snapped, and that Trevor had done something horrific to trigger this fracture. Initially, I thought that something was wrong with Trevor, that he was somehow troubled. What I learned, however, by going with him to school and spending time with him as he wandered the woods behind his house with his camera, was he wasn’t troubled at all, but rather the victim of years of torment by his peers. He was a sensitive kid whose only friends in the whole world were his elderly art teacher and five year old sister. I fell in love with Trevor from the outset. And it was excruciating watching as the events that led up to this confrontation with his father unfolded.

But I also allowed myself into Kurt’s world, as well as Elsbeth’s (Trevor’s mother). And what I found were two parents each waging their own small wars in an effort to keep their family together, their lives together, despite having both sacrificed their dreams a long time ago. I also found Crystal, a store clerk with her own demons to exorcise, who becomes inextricably tied into the drama playing out in the Kennedys’ lives.

I never set out with a particular agenda with regard to theme; rather, themes slowly emerge as the characters begin to breathe on the page. The story of the Kennedy family began in an effort to answer the aforementioned question, but ultimately became a story about perception, about possession, and about the small moments of grace that can—and do—save us…sometimes even from ourselves.


My Take:

My thanks to T. Greenwood for visiting my blog and giving us readers a glimpse into GRACE, the real story behind her story.  

NOW, HERE’S AMAZING MULTI-BOOK GIVEAWAY NEWS!

For readers of this blog, throughout the United States and Canada, you can enter a random drawing for free physical books of  ALL T. Greenwood’s previous titles including: 

TWO RIVERS
THE HUNGRY SEASON
UNDRESSING THE MOON
NEARER THAN THE SKY
THIS GLITTERING WORLD

You can enter this  multi-book giveaway just by leaving a comment on this blog post!    

The comment form will require an email address.  However, your email address will not be published.

I will announce the winner on a future blog post.

So, you stay tuned and check back often!  I just may have more giveaways coming to you in the future.

The voting hours have ended. I thank you for all of your votes! http://www.goodreads.com/book_blogger_award/entry/156

48 responses to “GRACE: BLOG POST BY T. GREENWOOD & MULTI-BOOK GIVEAWAY!

  1. Thank you for great guest blog and giveaway!

  2. Thank you – what a great giveaway!! These sound like great stories!

  3. Patty Rosellini

    The books sound good. Hope to win. Ty

  4. Sharon Moore

    Wow – what a give away! The post about “Grace” was intriguing. So much horror in the world, and to take a look at the characters and ask why must have been a difficult thing to do. Will have to put this one on my TBR list.
    Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy of your books. If I win, I may just have a give away at our book club. Good stories are meant to be shared.
    Sharon
    smoore at tcq dot net

  5. Tammy is a remarkably generous writer. I can’t wait to read Grace.
    Thanks for featuring her. She deserves it.

  6. I am, right now, looking for a new book to dive into. This book sounds both intriguing and haunting….
    I’m excited.

  7. These books look like they would be a great read. Love it!

  8. Mary Beth Boe

    T. (Tammy) Greenwood has yet to disappoint me as a reader. Having grown up in the same town as Tammy her books are partially a trip down memory lane in terms of setting.

    Her characters are cleverly crafted and you quickly begin to care for them. It is also hard to put one of her books down once you start reading. I have been waiting over a year for her latest work and I look forward to reading it.

  9. What an interesting post. I think I am brave enough to read Grace.
    laurathomas61@att.net

  10. Martha Lawson

    This sounds like a really compelling book! I can’t wait to read it! Please enter me for it.
    Thanks for the giveaway..

  11. When I think of events like that I also wonder, why? Some people snaps and what goes throught their minds is anyone’s guess. The themes in your story sounds gripping.

  12. Georgiann Hennelly

    Thank you for the wonderful blog post and the fantastic giveaway.

  13. Connie Carpenter

    Would be great to win!

  14. Grace sounds like it would be the type of book that would keep me up reading late into the night because I couldn’t wait to find out how it was going to end. My birthday is coming up! Hint, hint to my family! = )

  15. I can’t wait to read one of T. Greenwood’s books; it’s always exciting to find a new author to read.

  16. Sounds like another fantastic novel – but that’s what we expect from you Tammy. Can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

  17. linda murphy

    the title of theses books sound interesting, especially grace. i hope to win them but if not i will be getting them for myself and i always share books with my daughters.

  18. This is a wonderful contest and I’d be thrilled to win any of your books!

    catslady5(at)aol.com

  19. Wow, what a great contest. Thanks.

  20. Cool giveaway. It would be an honor to read anyone of those books.

  21. OMG. I need to win this. Thank you so much for the opportunity!!

  22. Bill McCurry

    Grace doesn’t sound like it would leave a reader with a good feeling.

  23. Jeane Howell

    It is beyond belief when parents harm,much less kill, their children. I wonder if the
    author consulted any counselors about why people do that? It does seem that would be
    a book that one hopes will end with some resolution to how to attempt to prevent such
    horrors.

    • You are entered into the giveaway, Jeane! I’m betting she did plenty of research for the resolution because she tries to put herself into the role of the shooter too.

  24. Oh, I’d love to win these books! Thank you for the offer!
    Nancee
    quiltcat26@sbcglobal.net